Malcolm Gladwell’s take on social media makes sense

There’s an interesting debate going on right now about the power (or lack thereof) of social media as agents of social change, spurred by Malcolm Gladwell’s article in the New Yorker which I recommend reading.

Of course this spurred an immediate response on the internet, but here’s an article that I think summarizes the debate and addresses it in a way that I think makes sense: In short, social media’s great for connecting. But it’s only when you take those connections and build them into actual relationships away from social media that they become meaningful.

About SandeepR

I’m a freelance science writer based in New York City. I can be contacted at gro.wsan@rpeednaS. You can also find me on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn and Instagram. Here are my clips, resume, portfolio and photos I’ve covered a variety of science and technology topics for outlets such as NationalGeographic.com, Popular Science, Wired.com, Nature News, The Verge, and Backchannel. I’m particularly interested in life sciences and technology and the intersection of the two. I’m also trying to cover more news related to India, particularly environmental issues and new advances in tech/research. I received a PhD in Microbiology & Immunology from Stanford University, and also studied Science Communication at the University of California at Santa Cruz. I’ve interned at a number of magazines and newspapers, and worked as a science writer for the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences for two years.
This entry was posted in future of media, Twitter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.