Open Notebook: A new site about the craft of science journalism

A new website called The Open Notebook just launched focusing on the craft of science journalism, and I think it’s well worth checking out.

The website features interviews with science writers about recent stories they’ve published.

It seems like a great way to get insights about how they tackled the story, including the nitty-gritty details: How they found their story ideas, how they identified good sources, how they pitched the story, and how they actually wrote the story.

They’ve already interviewed an impressive line-up of science writers, and I’ve found it quite fascinating to find out the ‘behind-the-scenes’ details of their stories. Hopefully you will too.

(Now that’s what my class project should have been :))

[The Open Notebook]

About SandeepR

I’m a freelance science writer based in New York City. I can be contacted at gro.wsan@rpeednaS. You can also find me on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn and Instagram. Here are my clips, resume, portfolio and photos I’ve covered a variety of science and technology topics for outlets such as NationalGeographic.com, Popular Science, Wired.com, Nature News, The Verge, and Backchannel. I’m particularly interested in life sciences and technology and the intersection of the two. I’m also trying to cover more news related to India, particularly environmental issues and new advances in tech/research. I received a PhD in Microbiology & Immunology from Stanford University, and also studied Science Communication at the University of California at Santa Cruz. I’ve interned at a number of magazines and newspapers, and worked as a science writer for the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences for two years.
This entry was posted in learning curve and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.